Chinese Zodiac

There are many stories in circulation as to how the order of the Chinese Zodiac was created but the most popular and frequently told is one about a squabble between twelve animals as to who was to head the cycle of years.

The Gods decided that the only fair way of doing things was to hold a contest to cross a river and the order of the cycle would be decided by the order in which the animals reached the other side of the bank.

All of the animals jumped in and started swimming furiously but, unbeknown to the Ox, the Rat had jumped on his back and as they reached the other side, he quickly jumped off and won the race hence why the Rat is the first sign in the cycle and the Ox is the second. It's also why people born under the sign of the Rat are considered to be resourceful, quick-witted and crafty.

The twelve Chinese Zodiac Animals are generally split in to two different categories based on personality traits.

First are the Power signs which include the Rat, Ox, Tiger, Dragon, Snake and Monkey.

Then there are the Romance signs which include the Rabbit, Horse, Sheep, Rooster, Dog and Pig.

They are also split into Four Trines as detailed below.

The First Trine

This consists of the Rat, Dragon, and Monkey.

These three signs are intense and powerful individuals, capable of great good or terrible evil. They make excellent leaders, although they each have very different ways of handling situations.

Frustrated when hampered, people born under these Chinese Zodiac signs do have a tendancy to be a bit unpredictable.

The Second Trine

The second trine consists of the Ox, Snake, and Rooster.

These three soul mates conquer life through endurance, application, and slow accumulation of energy.

They are all opinionated and rigid in their views but excel when it comes down to meticulous planning.

The Third Trine

This Trine consists of the Tiger, Horse, and Dog.

These three signs seek one another, and are like-minded in their pursuit of humanitarian causes.

Relationships are one of their highest priorities and they will search tirelessly for their soul mate. They all need high amounts of physical affection in order to thrive.

The Fourth Trine

The fourth trine consists of the Rabbit, Sheep and Pig.

These three signs have a much calmer nature than all the others in the Zodiac. In relationships they are attracted to people that are beautiful and sensitive and they can be fine artists in their lovemaking.

Although caring and self-sacrificing they can also be naive, pedantic and extremely insecure.

Why not check out how your personality matches up to your Chinese Zodiac sign by going back to the Fun Stuff homepage and then clicking on the individual links to each of the animals?

Might also be fun to see how your friends, family members and partner compare!

Return from Chinese Zodiac to Fun Stuff Homepage

footer for chinese zodiac page